School district · San Mateo County

Burlingame Elementary: special education data and contacts

How to ask this district for a free special-education assessment, and what it reports to the California Department of Education each October.

District typeElementary school district
Grades servedpreschool through 8
Students in special education · 2025-26313
Primary category: autism66
Free assessment

Asking Burlingame Elementary for an assessment

Public school districts must assess children 3 and older who may need special education, at no cost, including children who aren't in public school yet. For a child in private school, the district where the school is located may handle the assessment; call to confirm.

  1. Write to the district's special education office, or your child's principal, asking for an assessment.
  2. The district has 15 days to send you an assessment plan.
  3. After you sign the plan, it has 60 days to assess your child and meet with you.

Days between school sessions and school vacations longer than five school days don't count. Keep a copy of everything you send.

Write your request letter

District office

We haven't imported this district's office contact yet. CDE's California School Directory lists it.

This is an elementary district. Students move to a separate high school district for grades 9–12. Not sure which districts serve your address?

We send your address to the U.S. Census Bureau's geocoder to find its location, then match it to CDE district boundaries. We don't store or log it.

Public schools · CDE

What the district reports

On Census Day each October, California public schools report how many students have an active IEP, grouped by each student's primary disability category. Each student is counted once.

Students whose primary category is autism662025-26 school year · Census Day Oct 1, 2025California Department of Education
Students receiving special education3132025-26 school year · Census Day Oct 1, 2025California Department of Education
Share of special education under autism21.1%2025-26 school year · Census Day Oct 1, 2025

San Mateo County: 21.1% · California: 23.3%

California Department of Education

What this measures: Counts students whose primary special-education eligibility category is reported by public schools on Census Day. It is not a count of all autistic children, not a clinical diagnosis count, and not a prevalence rate.

AutismStudents with this primary category, by school year
0204060802022-232023-242024-252025-2666
Show the numbers
PeriodBurlingame Elementary
2022-2345
2023-2454
2024-2558
2025-2666
Specific learning disabilityStudents with this primary category, by school year
02550751002022-232023-242024-252025-2695
Show the numbers
PeriodBurlingame Elementary
2022-2370
2023-2470
2024-2586
2025-2695
Speech or language impairmentStudents with this primary category, by school year
0204060802022-232023-242024-252025-2666
Show the numbers
PeriodBurlingame Elementary
2022-2379
2023-2465
2024-2578
2025-2666
Other health impairmentStudents with this primary category, by school year
0204060802022-232023-242024-252025-2659
Show the numbers
PeriodBurlingame Elementary
2022-2349
2023-2442
2024-2549
2025-2659
Special education by primary category, 2025-26Students with an IEP, by the one category schools record as primary. Categories with no students are left out.
  • Specific learning disability95
  • Autism66
  • Speech or language impairment66
  • Other health impairment59
  • Intellectual disabilitySuppressed
  • Emotional disturbanceSuppressed
  • Multiple disabilitiesSuppressed
  • Orthopedic impairmentSuppressed
  • Deaf / hearing impairmentSuppressed
  • Hard of hearingSuppressed
  • Visual impairmentNot reported
  • Traumatic brain injuryNot reported
  • Established medical disabilityNot reported
  • Deaf-blindnessNot reported
Special education by age, 2025-26All disability categories combined. CDE does not publish autism by age.
  • Ages 3–521
  • Ages 6–12246
  • Ages 13–1846
  • Ages 19+ (typically 19–22)Not reported
Special education by grade span, 2025-26All disability categories combined.
  • Preschool–grade 3 (incl. TK)121
  • Grades 4–6107
  • Grades 7–885
  • Grades 9–12Not reported

English learners with an IEP: 65. Families can ask for assessment and meetings in their home language, with an interpreter at no cost.

Public schools · CDE

Does the district meet its legal timelines?

Each year CDE checks every district against federal compliance indicators. Two of them concern evaluations: deciding eligibility within 60 days of a signed assessment plan, and having an IEP in place by age 3 for children leaving Early Start.

Reported compliance is not the same as appointment wait time. These rates come from the district's own records of when steps were completed. They don't measure how long families wait to be heard, or the quality of the assessment.

Indicator 11 · target 100%

Initial evaluations completed within the 60-day timeline

95.5%

2024-25 annual performance report · target not met

2023-24: 100.0%

Indicator 12 · target 100%

Children moving from Early Start with an IEP in place by age 3

Not calculated (too few children)

2023-24 annual performance report

CDE's 2024–25 report reprinted the 2023–24 Indicator 12 rates, so we show them once.

What this measures: A compliance rate CDE calculates from records the district submits, for a 100% target set by federal law. CDE publishes the rate only, not how many children were counted, so a small district can swing widely from one year to the next. "Not calculated" means CDE judged the number of children too small. Reported compliance is not the same as appointment wait time.

Public schools · CDE

Where students in special education learn

Each student's IEP placement on Census Day: how much of the day they spend in a regular class, or whether they are taught in a separate school or a preschool setting.

All students with an IEP, 2025-26Program setting as reported to CDE
  • In a regular class 80% or more of the day216
  • In a regular class 40–79% of the day61
  • In a regular class less than 40% of the day22
  • Separate school or other setting7
  • Preschool setting7
Students in the autism category, 2025-26Program setting as reported to CDE
  • In a regular class 80% or more of the day41
  • In a regular class 40–79% of the day13
  • In a regular class less than 40% of the day11
  • Preschool setting1

What this measures: Program setting reflects each student's IEP placement on Census Day. Districts with more preschool or more students with significant needs will show different mixes, so a setting mix is not a measure of school quality.

Reading the numbers

Classification counts are not autism rates or school ratings.

What they count

Students whose IEP lists a category as primary. A student served under speech or another category, or without an IEP, is not in the autism count.

Why districts differ

Size, grades served, preschool programs, and county-run programs all change the mix. A higher count is not a sign of better or worse schools.

Small numbers

CDE withholds small cells to protect students. Those show as suppressed, never as zero.

See San Mateo County data
San Mateo County

Other districts in San Mateo County

Sources

Where these numbers come from

Figures are copied from public files without adjustment. Suppressed cells stay blank. Each source's own definitions apply.

Read the methodology
  1. Public schools · CDESpecial Education Enrollment by Program SettingCalifornia Department of Education, DataQuest Special Education Enrollment by Program Setting downloadable files
    Editions used
    2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25, 2025-26
    Retrieved
    Oct 16, 2026
    License
    Public data; CDE conditions of use
    Pipeline run
    cde-sped-20261016175952-b240, cde-sped-20261016175955-607a +2
  2. Public schools · CDESpecial Education Annual Performance Report Measures (LEA reports)California Department of Education, Special Education Division, Local Level Annual Performance Report
    Editions used
    2023-24, 2024-25
    Retrieved
    Oct 17, 2026
    License
    Public data; CDE conditions of use
    Pipeline run
    cde-apr-20261017225142-d83e, cde-apr-20261017225156-f77d