School district · San Francisco County

SBE - The New School of San Francisco: special education data and contacts

How to ask this district for a free special-education assessment, and what it reports to the California Department of Education each October.

District typeNot in boundary file
Grades servedNot reported
Students in special education · 2025-2673
Primary category: autism18
Free assessment

Asking SBE - The New School of San Francisco for an assessment

Public school districts must assess children 3 and older who may need special education, at no cost, including children who aren't in public school yet. For a child in private school, the district where the school is located may handle the assessment; call to confirm.

  1. Write to the district's special education office, or your child's principal, asking for an assessment.
  2. The district has 15 days to send you an assessment plan.
  3. After you sign the plan, it has 60 days to assess your child and meet with you.

Days between school sessions and school vacations longer than five school days don't count. Keep a copy of everything you send.

Write your request letter

District office

We haven't imported this district's office contact yet. CDE's California School Directory lists it.

We send your address to the U.S. Census Bureau's geocoder to find its location, then match it to CDE district boundaries. We don't store or log it.

Public schools · CDE

What the district reports

On Census Day each October, California public schools report how many students have an active IEP, grouped by each student's primary disability category. Each student is counted once.

Students whose primary category is autism182025-26 school year · Census Day Oct 1, 2025California Department of Education
Students receiving special education732025-26 school year · Census Day Oct 1, 2025California Department of Education
Share of special education under autism24.7%2025-26 school year · Census Day Oct 1, 2025

San Francisco County: 24.0% · California: 23.3%

California Department of Education

What this measures: Counts students whose primary special-education eligibility category is reported by public schools on Census Day. It is not a count of all autistic children, not a clinical diagnosis count, and not a prevalence rate.

AutismStudents with this primary category, by school year
051015202022-232023-242024-252025-2618
Show the numbers
PeriodSBE - The New School of San Francisco
2022-23Suppressed
2023-24Suppressed
2024-2511
2025-2618
Specific learning disabilityStudents with this primary category, by school year
0102030402022-232023-242024-252025-2629
Show the numbers
PeriodSBE - The New School of San Francisco
2022-2321
2023-2421
2024-2527
2025-2629
Speech or language impairmentStudents with this primary category, by school year
04812162022-232023-242024-252025-2612
Show the numbers
PeriodSBE - The New School of San Francisco
2022-23Suppressed
2023-24Suppressed
2024-2513
2025-2612
Other health impairmentStudents with this primary category, by school year
04812162022-232023-242024-252025-2612
Show the numbers
PeriodSBE - The New School of San Francisco
2022-2315
2023-2414
2024-2513
2025-2612
Special education by primary category, 2025-26Students with an IEP, by the one category schools record as primary. Categories with no students are left out.
  • Specific learning disability29
  • Autism18
  • Speech or language impairment12
  • Other health impairment12
  • Intellectual disabilitySuppressed
  • Emotional disturbanceSuppressed
  • Multiple disabilitiesNot reported
  • Orthopedic impairmentNot reported
  • Deaf / hearing impairmentNot reported
  • Hard of hearingNot reported
  • Visual impairmentNot reported
  • Traumatic brain injuryNot reported
  • Established medical disabilityNot reported
  • Deaf-blindnessNot reported
Special education by age, 2025-26All disability categories combined. CDE does not publish autism by age.
  • Ages 3–5Suppressed
  • Ages 6–1264
  • Ages 13–18Suppressed
  • Ages 19+ (typically 19–22)Not reported
Special education by grade span, 2025-26All disability categories combined.
  • Preschool–grade 3 (incl. TK)30
  • Grades 4–624
  • Grades 7–819
  • Grades 9–12Not reported

English learners with an IEP: 17. Families can ask for assessment and meetings in their home language, with an interpreter at no cost.

Public schools · CDE

Where students in special education learn

Each student's IEP placement on Census Day: how much of the day they spend in a regular class, or whether they are taught in a separate school or a preschool setting.

All students with an IEP, 2025-26Program setting as reported to CDE
  • In a regular class 80% or more of the day62
  • In a regular class 40–79% of the day9
  • In a regular class less than 40% of the day2
Students in the autism category, 2025-26Program setting as reported to CDE
  • In a regular class 80% or more of the day15
  • In a regular class 40–79% of the day1
  • In a regular class less than 40% of the day2

What this measures: Program setting reflects each student's IEP placement on Census Day. Districts with more preschool or more students with significant needs will show different mixes, so a setting mix is not a measure of school quality.

Reading the numbers

Classification counts are not autism rates or school ratings.

What they count

Students whose IEP lists a category as primary. A student served under speech or another category, or without an IEP, is not in the autism count.

Why districts differ

Size, grades served, preschool programs, and county-run programs all change the mix. A higher count is not a sign of better or worse schools.

Small numbers

CDE withholds small cells to protect students. Those show as suppressed, never as zero.

See San Francisco County data
San Francisco County

Other districts in San Francisco County

Sources

Where these numbers come from

Figures are copied from public files without adjustment. Suppressed cells stay blank. Each source's own definitions apply.

Read the methodology
  1. Public schools · CDESpecial Education Enrollment by Program SettingCalifornia Department of Education, DataQuest Special Education Enrollment by Program Setting downloadable files
    Editions used
    2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25, 2025-26
    Retrieved
    Oct 16, 2026
    License
    Public data; CDE conditions of use
    Pipeline run
    cde-sped-20261016175952-b240, cde-sped-20261016175955-607a +2